Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 01, 2024, 11:08:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691650
  • Total Topics: 118412
  • Online Today: 640
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Mutanimal's Clix Project  (Read 3290 times)

Offline Mutanimal

• Student
Mutanimal's Clix Project
« on: July 29, 2017, 01:31:38 PM »
I have started acquiring DC Heroclix so that my 5 year old son and I can use them to play Super Mission Force. I have been painting miniatures (usually poorly  :) ) for 25 or so years but this is my first attempt working with previously painted models. In the interest of getting the Clix to the table as quickly as possible, I'm only rebasing and enhancing the existing paint jobs as opposed to stripping and completely repainting them. So far it is going pretty well though I am struggling with a handful of the models.

My son is a fan of Red Tornado so he was one of the first models to get some attention. I am using metal washers from the hardware store for bases and hot glue to secure the figures. The tornado is painted hot glue that I heated up and twisted. I'm pretty happy with how he came out.

Clayface still needs a little more base work but the paint touch up and rebasing only took a half hour or so and he is much improved over the factory finish.

If anyone has any tips or suggestions I'd love to hear them. Particularly in reference to adding contrast and interest to some of the brighter primary colored costumes.

Offline fourcolorfigs

• Mastermind
    • http://www.four-colorstudios.com/
Re: Mutanimal's Clix Project
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2017, 03:45:44 PM »
Dynamite work! Most of my Clix are just partial repaints. I find spraying them with matte seal prior to painting helpful.

If you don't have him, grab the Shaggy Man! He's a great figure!
Scott P.
http://scott-pyle.tumblr.com/