*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2018, 07:02:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Author Topic: ViDe Raid questions  (Read 194 times)

Offline bennyb

  • lurker
  • Posts: 2
ViDe Raid questions
« on: August 15, 2017, 12:36:08 PM »
Hello, I recently purchased the Victory Decision Raid rules. Great game rules and very playable, but after our first game I have some questions. I do not know if there are plans to translate the rules into Dutch, but because we play in Belgium, it seems that something is ‘lost in the translation’ interpreting the rules, therefore these questions.

1) Regroup (p18) 'If a friendly unit is within Combat Range of the Wounded unit the roll is modified by -1'.
What if 2 (or 3, or even more) friendly units are within CR of the wounded unit, Do we have then a -2 (or -3 or more)?
Is this rule cumulative?

2) Broken LOS (p19): If a unit who is shot at, is in Broken LOS AND in cover (hard or soft) do we count a +1 for broken LOS AND a +1 for cover? So a +2?

3) Setup/x (p28): 'Another “Set Up” action can be taken later on to set up the weapon again but no unit may benefit from more than one “Set Up” action' - does that mean that once a game you can benefit from this (/x) extra damage dice? So you have to decide wise where to deploy the LMG because if you re-deploy later in the game to a other location you can not benefit the (/x) extra damage dice? Is this reasoning correct?

4) Suppression (p28): 'Note that the shooting player can always decide to shoot at one or more targets.' Do you have to decide in advance you will shoot at more targets or later, as the result of the first shot is known and you allocate the other shots to other targets ?

Thanks for these great game rules.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2017, 03:47:55 PM by bennyb »
Play the game for more than you can afford to lose... only then will you learn the game. - Winston Churchill

Offline Agis

  • villainous mastermind
  • Moderator
  • galactic brain
  • Posts: 4229
    • A.D.Publishing
Re: ViDe Raid questions
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 11:22:51 AM »
Thanks for the kind words!
Hello, I recently purchased the Victory Decision Raid rules. Great game rules and very playable, but after our first game I have some questions. I do not know if there are plans to translate the rules into Dutch, but because we play in Belgium, it seems that something is ‘lost in the translation’ interpreting the rules, therefore these questions.
There are no plans to translate Victory Decision into any other language.

1) Regroup (p18) 'If a friendly unit is within Combat Range of the Wounded unit the roll is modified by -1'.
What if 2 (or 3, or even more) friendly units are within CR of the wounded unit, Do we have then a -2 (or -3 or more)?
Is this rule cumulative?
The rule is not cumulative.

2) Broken LOS (p19): If a unit who is shot at, is in Broken LOS AND in cover (hard or soft) do we count a +1 for broken LOS AND a +1 for cover? So a +2?
No, you have to decide if the target unit wants to benefit from Broken LOS or cover.

3) Setup/x (p28): 'Another “Set Up” action can be taken later on to set up the weapon again but no unit may benefit from more than one “Set Up” action' - does that mean that once a game you can benefit from this (/x) extra damage dice? So you have to decide wise where to deploy the LMG because if you re-deploy later in the game to a other location you can not benefit the (/x) extra damage dice? Is this reasoning correct?
If you lose the Set Up benefit, normally because you want to redeploy, you can always spend another action and again gain the additional dice. The “no unit may benefit from more than one “Set Up” action” is meant that only one set up effect can be in effect at any given time, so you can’t perform 2 set up action to gain 2x the dice!

4) Suppression (p28): 'Note that the shooting player can always decide to shoot at one or more targets.' Do you have to decide in advance you will shoot at more targets or later, as the result of the first shot is known and you allocate the other shots to other targets ?
I suggest to decide in advance. It is however up to you and your game group.

cheers and keep on gaming, Agis - http://www.adpublishing.de

Offline bennyb

  • lurker
  • Posts: 2
Re: ViDe Raid 'new' questions
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2018, 10:54:53 AM »
Hello Agis, thanks for the answers, very helpful. We have been playing (and enjoying) for months now with these fine set of rules. Still some questions pop up, especially on the use of the LMG's.
We must be doing something wrong here or we must be confused with other rules...

Q: A question that keeps popping up. A German LMG34 need a appointed loader, right? If the LMG is activated, so is the loader the same time (they are not a weapon team, just two soldiers teaming up), is this thinking correct? They both share the same 3 actions, where the LMG is shooting and the loader is idle (loading) next to him. But what if the loader is killed and removed? Can the LMG stil continue to take 3 shooting actions?

Q: Nerves of steel (p23 - 7.12) ‘They may Re-Roll the die on the table to determine the effect of the enemy attack’. Lets say you trow a 3 and your combat status become Wounded. You decide to trow your re-roll and now you trow 5 what means Removed. Is your re-roll overruling the first roll, or can you decide to go with the initial 3 and ignore the 5 of the re-roll? (or would you better not re-roll to avoid more damage?)


Q: Five German soldiers are laying in Overwatch (p18 - 6.6). A British soldier shoots at one German in overwatch, can all five Germans (within range) start shooting now at this British soldier subsequently?

Thank you.


Offline Agis

  • villainous mastermind
  • Moderator
  • galactic brain
  • Posts: 4229
    • A.D.Publishing
Re: ViDe Raid questions
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2018, 12:38:44 PM »
Thanks for nice comment again.


No loader, the lone LMG guy shoots by himself, therefore the lower number of shooting dice.

ViDe seperates the LMG and the HMG.
Example: The squad based MG-42 is of course the same weapon as the HMG, the usage is different.
As always in ViDe a bit of abstraction is called for.

MG-42 LMG 3 48” 2xD6+1 Set Up/3, Suppression
Used like this:


Properly set up with tripod and all you get the HMG weapon team:
MG-42 HMG 3 48” 2xD6+1 Set Up/4, Suppression
Support Teams have additional rules that reflect loaders etc. Same weapon but slightly different once set up properly.
See: HP/X, Weapon Team Abilities



Re-roll - the second result stands! See P. 9 “you must accept the result of the second roll...”
Following your example, units with nerves of steel just have a higher survivability since they can reroll fatal results.

Overwatch - yes all. If all are in range etc.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 12:54:56 PM by Agis »

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
ViDe Sci-Fi!

Started by Marauder « 1 2 ... 6 7 » Victory Decision

104 Replies
26439 Views
Last post April 19, 2014, 01:23:58 PM
by Agis
1 Replies
1563 Views
Last post October 24, 2012, 01:43:55 PM
by Agis
Vide fc

Started by ianB « 1 2 » Victory Decision

25 Replies
4860 Views
Last post November 09, 2015, 07:19:07 PM
by Agis
5 Replies
196 Views
Last post June 09, 2017, 11:58:13 AM
by Agis
3 Replies
171 Views
Last post June 29, 2017, 12:13:46 PM
by YPU