Forum > Post-Apocalyptic Tales

This Is Not A Test Koyote

(1/70) > >>

Koyote:
Over the last few months I've been kind of obsessed with the post-apocalypse tabletop wargame, This Is Not A Test. It's been out for a couple of years now, so it's probably old news to most of you.  However, if you aren't familiar with the game, you should go to World's End Publishing and check it out.  If you want to watch it played, Guerilla Games has posted quite a few video battle reports.

As I did with Frostgrave and SAGA, I started painting terrain before turning my brush onto my warband.  For me, aesthetics are an important part of tabletop wargaming, and playing with painted terrain is more important than playing with a painted warband.  

Here's what I've put together so far.

The ruined buildings are kits from Pegasus Hobbies.  I originally assembled this terrain for 40K, but shortly after the release 7th Edition they went into storage boxes, primered but unpainted. I haven't played 40K since.  My adventures in post-apocalypse Seattle (that's where our TNT campaign takes place), gave me the excuse to finish painting ruins.

The mat is made by Urbanmatz.  It's the same mousepad-like material as F.A.T. mats, but the backing is a bit thinner, so it's easier to roll up and transport.

After a few games I realized that the table doesn't have enough areas that completely block line of sight, so I started Operation Block LOS, and I boarded up some of the windows.  

Many of you will recognize the barricades and abandoned cars from the tabletop game, The Walking Dead.  I Kickstarted it, but still haven't played it.  At least I am getting some use out of TWD scenery boosters.  

The 'piles of junk' are sold by Crooked Dice Games Design Studio.

To further the goal of Operation Block LOS, I have since added to my board some sheet metal barricades, which are also made by Crooked Dice.  I also have 4 of Crooked Dice scrap walls, but I haven't painted them yet.