Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 04:00:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690826
  • Total Topics: 118354
  • Online Today: 861
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Skirmish Hoplite Warfare?  (Read 2293 times)

Offline bulldogger2000

• Scientist
Skirmish Hoplite Warfare?
« on: December 20, 2017, 11:29:33 PM »
As a painter I have always wanted to paint up Hoplites.  I am reluctant to go "whole hog" and do large battles as it seems that nothing could be more boring than two Hoplite armies moving straight ahead and butting heads, until one gives way out of sheer exhaustion. 

Are there any possibilities for Greek Hoplites engaging in raids or skirmish actions? Or would they have left that type of action to light troops?  Or dump their full panoply to be more maneuverable?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. 

Offline Harry Faversham

• Galactic Brain
Re: Skirmish Hoplite Warfare?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2017, 12:40:57 AM »
'Song of Blades and Heroes' type game with a band of mercenary Hoplites taking on all comers perhaps?

:)
"Wot did you do in the war Grandad?"

"I was with Harry... At The Bridge!"

Offline Mason

• Elder God
  • Eternal Butterfly!
    • Blind Beggar Miniatures
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2017, 12:44:55 AM »
A Greek force for Of Gods and Mortals....I think it is a good bet that would find someone who fancies doing a small force of Norse, Celts or Egyptians and their mythological allies.
 ;)

Offline bulldogger2000

• Scientist
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2017, 02:46:53 AM »
Thanks for the initial responses. 

I was thinking more along the lines of historical scenarios/events.

Offline NickNascati

• Scatterbrained Genius
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2017, 03:03:03 AM »