Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 05:59:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690592
  • Total Topics: 118339
  • Online Today: 840
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Need advice for working with washes  (Read 2660 times)

Offline Charles92027

• Bookworm
Need advice for working with washes
« on: January 31, 2018, 03:55:39 PM »
I’m fairly new to this hobby, I’ve painted less than a dozen figures. I’m seeking advice on using washes, specifically for dark lining details after the figures have been painted.
I prime my figures with white, because I like them to be dressed in bright colors, then after I paint them, they look flat-shaded, so I then go over them in a dark wash to fill in all the cracks and crevices.
I really like the shaded, dark-lined look of a washed miniature, but I find that mine come out looking dirty. The cracks and crevices are filled, and the figures are shaded, but in general they lose all the brightness and they look like they’ve been rolling around in the dirt.
I think I’m getting better at it, but I’m looking for any advice that anyone might be able to share.

Offline has.been

• Galactic Brain
Re: Need advice for working with washes
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2018, 08:35:34 PM »
Keep doing what you have been doing, but then 'highlight' the colours, first with the original colour
(do not completely cover the 'dirtied' section)
 then a small 'spot/streak' with a lightened version of the colour.
This will bring life back into the colour.

Offline vodkafan

• Scatterbrained Genius
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2018, 05:24:24 PM »