Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 09:59:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: adding buttons to coats - 28mm  (Read 1328 times)

Offline aphillathehun

• Mad Scientist
adding buttons to coats - 28mm
« on: January 29, 2019, 01:29:11 PM »
I'm pretty new to this kind of thing.  I've used greenstuff as a gap filler before.  Last night I added hair to several figures.  It was a lot easier than I thought it would be.  It has made me think about doing a couple of other conversions I've been interested in the past, one of which is making some single breasted figs into double breasted.  Would you use green stuff for this, or something else?  If you do it with greenstuff, how do you go about it?

Offline FreakyFenton

• Mastermind
Re: adding buttons to coats - 28mm
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2019, 01:37:10 PM »
If you were to do buttons you could either go for small craft store pearls, the plastic ones for bracelets and such.

OR

You roll small balls from greenstuff or milliput and then cut them in twain. So you have to half orbs that you can then glue or stick to something.

Depends on personal preference, I usually go for the gs method.  lol
"No human being would stack books like -that-!" -Dr. Peter Venkman

Offline Schogun

• Mad Scientist
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2019, 01:49:31 PM »
I suggest making buttons same as making round rivets with 2-part, 5-minute epoxy. Mix a batch, dip the end of a toothpick into it, then touch onto the fig. The size of the tip will determine the size of the rivet...er...button.

Very easy.

I found 5-minute epoxy is thick enough to hold shape and size yet smooth over.

Offline 6milPhil

• Galactic Brain
    • Slug Industries
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2019, 05:48:26 PM »
For really small details like this I use fingernail decorations, they're regularly shaped, ready to go and cheap. Lots of different shapes for different uses too.