Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2024, 06:46:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Advice needed on static grass  (Read 1076 times)

Offline Sardoo

• Mad Scientist
Advice needed on static grass
« on: June 19, 2018, 04:39:18 PM »
As a complete beginner in using static grass I'd be very grateful for any advice folks can give on this subject. The range of information on t'internet is vast but it's difficult to separate the wheat from the chaff.

So, I'm particularly keen to hear about low-cost applicators, suppliers of the grass itself and the length I should use when basing 28mm figs.

I hope to use the grass mostly on single figure bases but also on small dioramas.

Many thanks in advance for any advice.

Offline Daeothar

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
  • D1-Games: a DWAN Corporate initiative
    • 1999legacy.com
Re: Advice needed on static grass
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2018, 10:54:10 AM »
Well, even though you can use all kinds of static applicators, both homemade and commercially made, I've found that for small surfaces, such as bases or small dioramas, those are not really necessary or even practical!

I've personally never used one; whenever I use static grass on bases (and I use it very frequently), I add a drop of (PVA) glue on the base, in the shape and size I want the grass clump to be, pick up a large clump of the grass of choice between thumb and indexfinger (at least 4x the size of the intended clump), and press it down on the glue.

I then tap/knock off the excess grass, and gently(!) blow over the glued down grass. The resulting vacuum over the grass will pull the individual blades up and make them stand up. And this simple process creates really nice and realistic clumps of grass.