*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
November 17, 2018, 06:25:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1264610
  • Total Topics: 89380
  • Online Today: 224
  • Online Ever: 1030
  • (October 30, 2018, 09:02:27 PM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Outremer Rules clarification  (Read 714 times)

Offline SHARPE52

  • schoolboy
  • Posts: 6
Outremer Rules clarification
« on: June 25, 2018, 03:01:44 PM »
Hi All,
I have just signed up to this fantastic forum I have been followed for some time.
With my group we are having a go at Outremer Osprey rules and we like them a lot.
The other night we played using mounted knights but we couldn't find info about Mounted lance charging.
Someone can help me by saying which power dice and how many wounds the lance has when charges please?
TIA
Marco

Offline agent_pumpkin

  • bookworm
  • Posts: 61
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 07:26:43 AM »
I think, in the rulebook, only the Crusaders can have Mounted Lance Charge, so its under their Army Traits "Couched Lance" Err... <looks it up> on page  30.

For other troops, I suppose you could use the spear stat and give it a bonus if you and your opponent agree.

Offline SHARPE52

  • schoolboy
  • Posts: 6
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2018, 02:19:29 PM »
Thank you very much for your suggestion.
Actually what I cannot find is the kind of dice I have to use as Power dice and how many damage points the lance causes.
I am going to create my house rules by using D10 as Power dice till the character reaches "Knight 2" level and then D12. As far as damage is concerned I'll use 1 point only in order to allow the knight to dismount if hit and just the horse dies.
Marco

Offline agent_pumpkin

  • bookworm
  • Posts: 61
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2018, 03:51:45 PM »
My apologies. As you say there is no stat line for the Lance itself.

I like your idea, and my try it myself. Although I might tone it down and go D8 then D10 for Veteran Knight. But yes 1 damage seems spot on.

Like you , I wonder what the author had in mind?

Offline SHARPE52

  • schoolboy
  • Posts: 6
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2018, 09:31:48 PM »
I like your idea of using D8 and then D10 and maybe I would use D12 for most experienced knights.
So far we have not started a real campaign yet.
Besides I like the rules very much.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
M

Offline Dalcor

  • librarian
  • Posts: 170
    • Wargaming ASP Club
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2018, 07:58:17 AM »
Hello Guys, please try to contact directly the autor for better explanation. I can only suggest that we have discussed this during Betatest and according what I have available is that generaly Lance do not have stats (so not an oversight), its just static effect described in the Crouched Lance Charge rule on pg 30 as addition to standard melee rules. So when you are charging for the first time in the game only you will roll damage according to weapon you have equiped and the static effect will happen. Than the lance is shattered and you can not use it any more.

If you want to use classic franks trusting spear instead of lance, use stats for spear as usualy.

Hope it helps.

Offline SHARPE52

  • schoolboy
  • Posts: 6
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2018, 01:45:52 PM »
Thank you Dalcolor,
I like your idea and we'll have a go with this interpretation.
If I would write to the author can you suggest to which  e mail adress I could write?
I cannot find it in the book.
Thanks again
M

Offline Dalcor

  • librarian
  • Posts: 170
    • Wargaming ASP Club
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2018, 02:09:18 PM »
Jamie is here at the forum - Legio_Custodes here on the forum :-)

Anyway its how the Lance has been explained to us when we asked same question during betatesting, so not my idea

Offline agent_pumpkin

  • bookworm
  • Posts: 61
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2018, 02:20:01 PM »
Does he have a blog or anything?

Offline SHARPE52

  • schoolboy
  • Posts: 6
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2018, 03:47:03 PM »
I trust you and I am fully satisfied with your explanation.
I woud like to hear from him if he has new idea about mounted lance because I am not particularly happy with the idea that a mounted knight has a more powerful lance power dice if he is also armed with a mace intstead of a sword whle he is not using in the first round of melee:-)
M

Offline Dalcor

  • librarian
  • Posts: 170
    • Wargaming ASP Club
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2018, 08:04:41 PM »
Well, he has blog, just please search for Outremer here and you will find it. I do not remember the link as I am on cell phone only at this moment.. Also I think you can find link on my blog http://wargamingasp.blogspot.cz.

Well, if you are not happy with it, just change it.

If we change the effect with preset damage output, I believe its OK. The effect of crouched lance is very very powerfull, so I would use d8  as a damage for this attack only. Just agree with other players joining in.

Offline agent_pumpkin

  • bookworm
  • Posts: 61
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2018, 11:04:28 AM »
Thanks very much Dalcor.

Offline Legiocustodes

  • scientist
  • Posts: 278
  • Old school gamer since 1990!
    • Oldhammer 40k
Re: Outremer Rules clarification
« Reply #12 on: July 10, 2018, 11:06:27 AM »
Hi Guys!

Apologies for the delayed response; my personal life has sadly got in the way and taken up much of my time of late.

With regards to the question Dalcor is indeed correct, Couched Lance Charge is a static ability for the Crusaders and Military Orders to reflect the signature combat move of the armoured knight during this period.

As such it eliminates an opponent’s ability to modify their toughness by using armour when the first mounted charge takes place...but the power dice will be based on whatever other weapon the knight is wielding. That being said your house rule seems perfectly serviceable and if that suits you and all the players agree then feel free to use it!

I’m really glad to see that you’re enjoying the game and I’d be keen to see any battle reports or photos you may have!!

My official Outremer blog is at:

https://outremerfaithandblood.blogspot.com/?m=0
Check out my blog for all things 30k, 40k, Oldhammer and tutorials:
http://classicastartes.blogspot.co.uk