Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 09:30:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Dieppe "Operation Jubilee' Query  (Read 1471 times)

Offline Unlucky General

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Scientist
Dieppe "Operation Jubilee' Query
« on: June 12, 2018, 11:13:03 PM »
Okay learned colleagues, I have a technical query.

I have been trawling through images on the internet for the Dieppe raid 1942 and very definitely observe a wrecked bren carrier on the beach. I have been wondering about the precise battalion structure for the infantry and in particular the elements of the support company.

I'm reasonably certain the anti-tank elements were still ATR and 2 pounders and the fire support 3" mortars and Vickers MMG. Personally I'd want a ride up the chert if I had the main components of the Vickers or a mortar but is it possible and does anyone know if they took their ATGs? I'd have assumes they intended to rely on close tank support for anti-tank capability.

Or am I off the mark completely?

Offline vodkafan

• Scatterbrained Genius
Re: Dieppe "Operation Jubilee' Query
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2018, 04:26:58 PM »
Not sure about the 2pdrs , I didn't think standard infantry battalions had AT gun platoons until 1943, when the original HQ Company was split into HQ Coy and separate Support Coy.
But Vickers MMGs were NEVER part of the infantry battalion line up, they were organized into Machine Gun battalions.

Having said all that, the battalions at Dieppe might have been re-organized, I don't know.
I am going to build a wargames army, a big beautiful wargames army, and Mexico is going to pay for it.

2019 Painting Challenge :
figures bought: 500+
figures painted: 57
9 vehicles painted
4 terrain pieces scratchbuilt

Offline Ultravanillasmurf

• Galactic Brain
    • Ultravanillasmurf
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2018, 05:17:11 PM »