Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 03:59:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1686506
  • Total Topics: 118106
  • Online Today: 857
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 12:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Modelling putty advice please  (Read 1207 times)

Offline Brandlin

• Mad Scientist
    • Brandlin
Modelling putty advice please
« on: July 31, 2018, 07:15:01 PM »
HI

I'm looking for a modelling putty that is soft enough (liquid) to be used to press into 28mm figure chainmail and fill the gaps, allowing it to be smoothed off either when still wet or filed/sanded smooth afterwards.

I want to fill the chain mail and paint it like leather armour.

I have plenty of greenstuff, but my experience with this is that its too thick to really force into the chain without leaving a very thick layer over the top.

Has anyone done this? Does anyone have a recommendation?

Offline Andym

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
Re: Modelling putty advice please
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2018, 08:59:54 PM »
Warm Grenstuff is a LOT easier to smooth out in a thin layer. Have you tried using an old hairdryer to heat it up?

Offline Silent Invader

• Galactic Brain
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2018, 09:24:47 PM »
Take a small piece of green milliput and finely chop it while adding a little water (best done on a piece of glass) and you’ll soon create a paste that can be brushed on as a fine filler.

I’ve also filled chain mail with GS, using it in minute quantities immediately after mixing and forcing it into the gaps while scraping away excess, then rubbing over with a wet clay shaper.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2018, 09:27:49 PM by Silent Invader »
My LAF Gallery is HERE
Minis (foot & mounted) finished in 2024 = 0
(2023 = 151; 2022 = 204; 2021 = 123; 2020 = ???)

Offline Brandlin

• Mad Scientist
    • Brandlin
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2018, 09:49:00 PM »