Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 12:08:07 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690715
  • Total Topics: 118343
  • Online Today: 839
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Headgear of the British Indian Army?  (Read 2184 times)

Online Doug ex-em4

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Scatterbrained Genius
Headgear of the British Indian Army?
« on: August 20, 2018, 09:59:45 PM »
My wife is watching a programme called Bollywood Something or Other (it’s on now). I’m idly browsing and glancing at the tv every so often. There is a sequence showing a battle scene which involves British soldiers and there was one last week as well. So, here’s the point of this rambling post. Are those weird hats they have the British soldiers wearing - are they correct? I’m no expert on this period and era (19th century India) so I don’t know. I’ve seen plenty of illustrations of uniforms of the time but this helmet doesn’t figure at all. It looks like something a skateboarder may wear. It has appeared in at least 2 different films the programme has shown clips of so seems to be accepted in Bollywood-land as authentic.

This is very much an idle curiosity but it’s nagging at me. Are these hats nonsense?

Doug

Offline marco55

• Mastermind
Re: Headgear of the British Indian Army?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2018, 01:40:40 AM »
Are you talking about these? (pic)If you are they are sun helmets and most colonial armies wore them.The pics are a Belgian figure and the others are French.
Mark

Offline marco55

• Mastermind
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2018, 01:44:01 AM »

Offline FifteensAway

• Galactic Brain
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2018, 02:34:55 AM »
Movies and historical accuracy?  Bwahahahhhaa, bwahhhaahhaaa, bhahaw...wait...let...me...catch...my breathe.   lol

Offline Plynkes

• The Royal Bastard
  • Elder God
  • I killed Mufasa!