Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 08:19:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Dogs - How to paint well?  (Read 2108 times)

Offline Ssendam

• Scientist
    • Ssendam's Blog
Dogs - How to paint well?
« on: June 23, 2019, 10:46:40 AM »
Hi All

I've got a coule of the 7TV Attack Dogs, the Alsatian type, but I'l struggling to put a lick of paint on them that looks good.  The whole two tome nature of the fur is just not working for me and I end up with a very un-natural look.

If anyone can spare me a a quick description of how they got decent results I'd be grateful, (or maybe there is a tutorial out there I've missed?).

I'm using Vallejo paints for the most part if that helps.

RE

Ssendam
"I've been a soldier for 12 years - it's my profession.  But if a soldier doesn't want peace in his soul then he's not a soldier any more - he's a killer.  A soldier fights for peace." Nadia Savchenko

Offline Hobgoblin

• Galactic Brain
    • Hobgoblinry
Re: Dogs - How to paint well?
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2019, 01:09:40 PM »
Not sure if these would help or if they're anywhere near the standard you're looking for, but I would use the same techniques on Alsatians that I use on wolves.

After a white undercoat, I wash them in GW's Agrax Earthshade (dark-brown wash) then drybrush them white. When that's done, I apply a thin wash of watery buff or bone paint down the back and sides, and maybe over the paws too. Then I add a slightly narrower band of reddish brown (GW's Mournfang brown, heavily thinned with water) down the back. Finally, I use some watery black paint to create a narrower stripe still down the spine.

Throughout, I refer to photos of real wolves or dogs to see where each of the three colours should go.

It's a very quick technique; once you've done the 'preshading' with the wash and drybrush, it only takes a few minutes to apply the three colours.

Offline Ssendam