*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 26, 2019, 01:19:48 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1335762
  • Total Topics: 94430
  • Online Today: 213
  • Online Ever: 1136
  • (July 19, 2019, 06:36:21 PM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!  (Read 445 times)

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« on: July 21, 2019, 05:44:55 PM »
Well itís more of a question on theatre selection.

Iíve just been lucky enough to get my hands on the very nice Romanian army for sale in the bazaar.

So Iím looking at putting a bolt action 1000pt platoon together using the theatre selectors in the Axis book.

Iím just a little confused as to how many tanks I can take in a single infantry platoon,
I can take a Romanian tank,
I can take a German suplied tank, in Romanian colours etc
And I can take a German Allied tank, from the allied section.

Is this correct? All possibly hypothetical as thatís going to be expensive in points, but I do have 3 panzer 38tís sat on my toy shelf doing nothing?
The idea of these three little beauties running around appeals.

The problem occurs when you read the entitlement and restrictions on German allied and supplied equipment. One allows veteran heavy armour whilst the other only allows regular medium armour (or less)
Thus creating the idea that you can take one of each?

Confused, you will be!
Lol

Thanks in advance.

Offline Ultravanillasmurf

  • galactic brain
  • Posts: 5418
    • Ultravanillasmurf
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2019, 09:27:22 PM »
Normally a reinforced platoon can take one tank (or tank type vehicle).
I think what you are reading is what type of tank you can have depending on the theatre platoon you choose.

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2019, 09:40:22 PM »
Thanks for looking at my post.

I think some (only a few) theatre lists do allow two AFV or artillery, Iím pretty sure the Romanian lists allow at least TWO tanks,
One from the list and one German allied unit.
Itís just the 3rd thatís a possible interpretation?

Iím probably going to build my force with 2 tanks, Iím just interested to see if the third is possible.

Have a full read of the Romanian army section, and get back to me, please.


Offline voltan

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • mad scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 740
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2019, 10:36:27 PM »

Iím just a little confused as to how many tanks I can take in a single infantry platoon,
I can take a Romanian tank,
I can take a German suplied tank, in Romanian colours etc
And I can take a German Allied tank, from the allied section.

Is this correct?

Basically, no.
It's very badly edited, You get one tank per platoon, the listing about axis vehicles in Romanian service is just to explain what vehicles they supplied and for reasons, is different to what's listed in the platoon options. The axis support thing is separate from the platoon and is one per force, so never more than one. To get 3 tanks in there you'd need to take two platoons.
'I came, I saw, and I couldn't believe my eyes.' -Julius Caesar.

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2019, 07:22:45 AM »
Ok, thanks.
So itís looking like one tank in the platoon, plus an allied axis unit which could be a German tank.
Giving a total of two per wargame force.

Going off topic ever so slightly, this of course allows Romanian forces 3 artillery pieces.
One they get for free,
One they pay for,
And an allied artillery piece.

Three medium howitzers could be devastating.
Lol
Thanks

Offline voltan

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • mad scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 740
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2019, 10:01:43 AM »

Going off topic ever so slightly, this of course allows Romanian forces 3 artillery pieces.
One they get for free,
One they pay for,
And an allied artillery piece.

Three medium howitzers could be devastating.
Lol
Thanks

Yeah, I guess they thought everyone would just take a tank as the allied unit ;D

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2019, 02:46:12 PM »
I like the idea of an artillery battery on the battlefield, but I may go light howitzers now, as this is more realistic and less powerful!!!

Offline Rich H

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scatterbrained genius
  • *
  • Posts: 2234
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2019, 03:01:07 PM »
One of the theatre books has a generic artillery battery 'platoon'
Battle of France I think

Offline Cat

  • librarian
  • Posts: 188
    • Goblinhall
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2019, 04:52:48 PM »
One of the theatre books has a generic artillery battery 'platoon'
Battle of France I think

The standard French army lists from the Armies of France allows 1 free Light or Medium Howitzer or AT gun.  Two 75s up in the front is very French.  Western Desert Campaign book, they get a free Light, can purchase another, and can have up to 2 armoured cars or SPGs, so another pair of Light portees; so plenty of French 75s to get blottoed on!

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2019, 06:22:45 PM »
Well this is all planning for my new Romanian force that Iíve bought.
So Iím stuck with these guys.
But funnily enough they too have the French Artillery Doctrine rule.
Plus they get allied German units (which could be painted to look like more Romanian units.
Hence the 3 tanks or 3 artillery pieces.

Offline Chico

  • mastermind
  • Posts: 1094
  • I came, I saw and I ate your pie.
    • Oldhammer on a Budget
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2019, 09:15:31 PM »
Congrats on getting a Romanian army, they are my main army for BA and honestly underplayed despite having 2 of the best National rules in the game.

You are correct in that you get 1 German/Italian tank/unit ( Which you pay for) and this is outside of the Platoon structure  along with a free Light-Med Howlizer or a Light-Med-Heavy AT also outside of the Platoon structure.

Your German unit/tank will also gain any bonus such as Hitler Buzzsaw or Initiative Training.

If you get bored and fancy a look at another Romanian force here's mine: http://oldhammeronabudget.blogspot.com/
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 09:18:04 PM by Chico »

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2019, 10:54:17 PM »
Beautiful figures.
Yes looking forward to trying them out.

So before I go way off topic, again, can I have 3 tanks in a single force?
Or better going with 2?
It feels less dramatic having 2, lol!

Your recently deceased cat looks uncannily like my recently deceased cat Jeeves!
Honest, itís very strange....

Offline Tim Haslam

  • Supporting Adventurer
  • scientist
  • *
  • Posts: 408
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2019, 10:56:08 PM »
Erm, thatís not a picture of my cat dead, itís a picture of my dead cat!
He was just very large and laid back!

Offline Chico

  • mastermind
  • Posts: 1094
  • I came, I saw and I ate your pie.
    • Oldhammer on a Budget
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2019, 09:07:09 AM »

So before I go way off topic, again, can I have 3 tanks in a single force?
Or better going with 2?


You can take 3 tanks if you take 2 Generic Platoon Selectors (1 German/Italian and 2 Romanian), but your'll need 4 Infantry and 2 HQ's to unlock this. The other option is a Tank Platoon Selector from the Tank Wars expansion and that allows you all the Tanks/AC's but all infantry units in that Platoon must be in transports.

Your recently deceased cat looks uncannily like my recently deceased cat Jeeves!
Honest, itís very strange....

Sorry for your lose, I know I didn't handle mine dying very well at all.

Offline JamesValentine

  • scientist
  • Posts: 480
Re: A good old fashioned rule question for Bolt Action!
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2019, 11:46:07 AM »
one thing you can do if in doubt is take 3 small platoons.
its a little...gamey I guess.
but its a possibility