*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 29, 2020, 10:15:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?  (Read 396 times)

Offline Munindk

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 528
  • Denmark
Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?
« on: November 29, 2019, 01:32:11 PM »
Google tells me that Spellcaster: The Frostgrave Magazine #1 has rules for horses in Frostgrave.

Would those rules be portable to Rangers of Shadow deep?

If not, does anyone have ideas on how to handle horses in Ranger of Shadowdeep?

Offline Pascal

  • Assistant
  • Posts: 36
Re: Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2019, 05:26:33 PM »
In the Files section of the RoSD FB Group https://www.facebook.com/groups/199819667485240/  there is a document by Christian Cameron for using mounts.

I wish the document was on some other site other than FB.  If you do not have a FB account you are out of luck.  I would share it but I do not want to break some rule that is unknown to me that will get me banned.

Offline Munindk

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 528
  • Denmark
Re: Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2019, 09:43:29 PM »
I have facebook, thank you kindly for the link :)

Offline Munindk

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 528
  • Denmark
Re: Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2019, 07:37:21 AM »
Just started reading the rules from facebook.
They're very complicated, treating horses as seperate characters and a mounted character becomes 3 models in combat, where 2 of them are the horse...

Thats a bit more than I was looking for. I was thinking more along the lines of +X movement, +X armour, + X equipment slots, it takes an action to mount or dismount, a small penalty to shooting.

Offline Zinkala

  • Bookworm
  • Posts: 62
Re: Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2019, 02:39:33 PM »
The spellcaster rules for horses should work in ROSD. The combined mounted model gets M +2, F+1 and S -2, no climbing. There are some rules about what might happen if you ride through difficult terrain, mounting and dismounting and special abilities/equipment relating to horses you can buy. Not too complex.

Offline Munindk

  • Mad Scientist
  • Posts: 528
  • Denmark
Re: Horses in RoSD - does the rules from Spellcaster #1 work?
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2019, 08:31:23 AM »
Thank you, that sounds more up my alley :)