Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 07:46:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Scaling Down the FIW  (Read 1407 times)

Offline RobertBruce

• Assistant
Scaling Down the FIW
« on: November 01, 2019, 09:52:58 PM »
Well here goes. Perhaps a heretical post. But first, thanks to all those who posted so much helpful info regarding my newbie queries about figures and rules for FIW. And thanks for all the photos of the amazing 28mm figs. The work done by Forum members here is stunning and I am enjoying reading old posts and checking out the art.

As an old guy who has gamed since the 60s and has only used three scales (1/72, 3mm and 6mm), I find that 28mm seems a bit daunting for my skills. I am a decent painter, not great. I do very well with scenery and buildings are my specialty. 6mm is a scenery driven scale.

As much as I love the Galloping Major figures, it was a bit of a shock to find out how expensive they are compared to smaller scales. The 6mm world often counts its armies in the thousands, but even if I wanted fifty 28mm figures a side, it would set me back, and then I would likely become obsessed and then bankrupt.

And now for the heresy - As I considered the rules suggestions, I began looking around on line and stumbled upon a gamer who plays several skirmish games, including Sharpe Practice, in 6mm. And he has created a set of FIW skirmish figures using the Baccus FIW figs that look very attractive to my 6mm eyes. And it turns out he is not the only one using 6mm for skirmishing a variety of horse and musket, WW2. The basing scheme they are using also swayed me.