Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 05:52:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: New research on miniaturing  (Read 792 times)

Offline manatic

• Mad Scientist
    • Dawn of the Lead
New research on miniaturing
« on: June 28, 2020, 10:37:08 AM »
Hi all!

I work as a postdoctoral researcher, and while most of my work focuses on digital gaming, it's nice to have some side projects, as with miniatures! And speaking of miniatures, I've done some research on them with two brilliant colleagues, and our paper has just been published in Simulation & Gaming.

Miniaturing has been researched surprisingly little compared to role-playing games, let alone digital gaming. If there's anything years of hobbying has taught me, there's a lot of interesting stuff (scientific formulation, that) going on. As the name suggests, our paper, More Than Wargaming: Exploring the Miniaturing Pastime, is a look at the various dimensions of this pastime.

You can access the paper through this link, and it's fully Open Access - meaning that it isn't behind a paywall as is commonly the case with research articles. Should you be in the mood for an academic exploration of what we do, dive right in! It would be very interesting to hear your thoughts on the paper: do you feel that it captures the phenomenon? It should be a light enough read, even if you're not partial to the academic style of writing. If you don't have the time, here are the conclusions we arrived at: