Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 01:48:45 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Colours for WW1 British and germans  (Read 6171 times)

Offline General M@yhem

• Scientist
Colours for WW1 British and germans
« on: May 11, 2007, 02:26:57 PM »
Hi,
I've been a lurker for some time and finally joined the forums. I've got a load of Renegade early war Brits and Germans.
Can anyone tell me suitable paint colours to use for the uniforms.I've got access to GW stuff, some foundry and a small amount of Model Master  paints. In particular I'm having difficulty deciding on the standard German uniform.
If you can help please keep the colours simple as I'm not a great artist.Love the forums by the way. :love:

Offline PeteMurray

• Parapsychologist
  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Cardinal Murray
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 02:38:03 PM »
Welcome! I've got the Renegade Early Brits, and would love a color conversion from Humbrol to Something Sensible as well. So I'm glad you asked this question. I suppose tonight I could list the colors they recommend.

Nice minis, aren't they?

Offline Plynkes

• The Royal Bastard
  • Elder God
  • I killed Mufasa!
    • http://misterplynkes.blogspot.com/
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 03:04:08 PM »
Hi there, General M@yhem. Welcome aboard.

I'm painting my 1914 Great War Germans at the minute, and it's something of a new world to me, too. My sources with colour plates are divided into two camps which don't agree. The Ospreys all show the Germans clad head to foot in a colour that is just pure grey. Two other books I have (one which actually shows a photo of a uniform, though it is in such good condition that it surely must be a reproduction) show plain grey trousers but with a jacket of greenish-grey.

Faced with this impasse I have gone with the one that I think looks cooler: The greenish-grey.