Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 03:20:21 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690522
  • Total Topics: 118335
  • Online Today: 732
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Maintaining your paint pots  (Read 2716 times)

Offline Ray Rivers

• Galactic Brain
Maintaining your paint pots
« on: June 13, 2010, 03:13:55 PM »
In a recent discussion about foundry paints the often heard "the tops break off" comment was made. 

Actually, lots of folks complain about paint pots and their tops breaking off, so I thought I would have a try at a quick... "How to Maintain your Paint Pots" tutorial.

I know this would be far more convincing if given by someone like the Prof, Captn, or about a zillion better painters than me, but I've been using pots for going on 30 years so, I thought maybe experience counts some...  :D

Anyway... off we go.

I'm working on some 15mm AB Chasseurs and I have come to the point where I want to paint their swords.  So I rummage around my paints and found a bottle of Foundry Chainmail.  Here's a pic of what I saw:

Notice how the lid is sticking up on the right side?  Hmmm... let's look inside:

:o  YIKES!  WHAT A DISASTER!!!   o_o

Notice the inside of the top is clogged with dry paint.  The top of the bottle is caked in paint crapolla and the paint itself is oozing out of the top lip like sludge! 

YUCK!     YUCK!     YUCK!

This diffidently won't due.  Clean up time!

So first off, I take my trusty exacto knife, stab into the lid and pull out all the dried paint there.

CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT!

Amazing...   :o

Next, I use some paper napkins and clean all the junky stuff on top, on the side and inside the top of the pot...

Okay, that is looking better!  But notice how much paint is in the lip of the jar?  I mean, I'm not sure if I should use a brush or a spatula to work that stuff...  lol