Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 11:31:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1686473
  • Total Topics: 118102
  • Online Today: 857
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 12:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Southern Europe Tiles - Suggestion and Comments needed!  (Read 3077 times)

Offline Sangennaru

• Galactic Brain
  • The Lazy One
    • The Lazy Forger
Southern Europe Tiles - Suggestion and Comments needed!
« on: January 29, 2011, 10:50:41 PM »
hi everyone!

this is my first time trying to make some good quality south european tiles.
many people used strains of corrugated cardboard, or parts of straws for the single tiles.

i decided to use some lead film, cutted and bended in single pieces.

tell me what you think

i'm really interested in your comments, because i'm planning to make a bigger version of them (for a 28mm building), but before start i need to have in mind exactely what to do! :)

cheers,
Jack

EDIT: i know that the precision is poor, but it is meant to be. if you think i need more precision, i could easily apply to that ^^
« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 11:56:26 AM by Sangennaru »

Offline carlos marighela

• Elder God
  • Flamenguista até morrer.
Re: southern europe tiles
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2011, 11:13:29 PM »
Jack,

I think that is an excellent idea, those are some of the best versions I've seen, however......... Unless you are going to cast them or just use them for the occasional single or loose tile I suspect you will find it's a hell of a lot of work to do an entire roof, let alone a village's worth. Still if you resin cast them somehow.

I've tried all the popular methods. Sliced plastic straws in half, then cut up into tile lengths. I'veused the styrene sheets for railway modellers and I've even tried the PVA, corduroy and paint method. Frankly I didn't find that one very convincing so I ditched it.