Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 01:53:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690823
  • Total Topics: 118354
  • Online Today: 861
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Perry plastic figure build step by step (+ finished paintjob 30/1)  (Read 12944 times)

Offline Captain Blood

• Global Moderator
  • Elder God
Since I posted the pics of my Perry WOTR mercenaries a few days ago, I’ve had a few requests for a step-by-step on an example figure.

I’m no expert, and I’m sure there are very many people with expertise in building GW plastic figures who know a lot more about this than I do - but for what it’s worth, I’m happy to oblige, so here goes…  :)

First, a few points for the would-be plastic figure builder to bear in mind...

1.       Modern liquid polystyrene cement (I use the revell stuff, with a needle dispenser) is a wonderful magic substance. Not only does it glue bits together - it dissolves and melds plastic, acts as a smoother, filler and concealer of joins. It sticks almost immediately, and sets hard within 30 mins. In short, it’s very versatile and it’s your friend.

2.       These figures are made from pleasingly soft ‘hard plastic’. In other words, compared to soft polythene (e.g. most 1/72 scale) figures, this stuff is rigid and hard. But it is not so hard or brittle that it’s remotely difficult to work with. In fact, it’s ludicrously soft and easy to cut, shave, and scrape. It’s very biddable.