Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 03:43:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Scale definitions  (Read 2603 times)

Offline Vanvlak

• Galactic Brain
Scale definitions
« on: November 16, 2007, 12:54:25 PM »
Hi all,
I've been modelling stuff for over 25 years now, but have only just realised something a bit creepy (as in scale  :P ).
According to Wikipediaia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_scale_model_sizes
1:73.152 corresponds to 28mm scale. But this is smaller than 1/72. The site admits that scale creep has lead to 1:48 being closer. Now I am 5feet7inches or 1.7m tall. Dividing by 48 gives 35.5mm. This means I would be the size of a 7foot Space Marine.... and certainly taller than any figure I own which purports to be 28mm scale (or at least, more so than most GW models).
Must be one of my off days, but I can't grasp this. Help?

PS - using the actual conversion given gives a closer result, in true 28mm scale. Then why are 1/72 scale figures so much smaller? And 1:48 appear smaller than 28mm. is it all due to creep and heroic sizes?

Offline Plynkes

• The Royal Bastard
  • Elder God
  • I killed Mufasa!
    • http://misterplynkes.blogspot.com/
Scale definitions
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 01:14:06 PM »
I've always found it odd when blockheads sound off on TMP about  1/48th scale planes being absolutely  far too big for 28mm. The 1/48th figures that come with the planes are smaller than 28mm as often as not.
With Cat-Like Tread
Upon our prey we steal...

Offline Vanvlak

• Galactic Brain
Scale definitions
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2007, 01:15:33 PM »
Quote from: "Plynkes"
I've always found it odd when blockheads sound off on TMP about  1/48th scale planes being absolutely  far too big for 28mm. The 1/48th figures that come with the planes are smaller than 28mm as often as not.