Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 03:54:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: obsidian3d's Strange Aeons thread - Bones werewolf  (Read 24710 times)

Offline obsidian3d

• Scatterbrained Genius
    • o2media
obsidian3d's Strange Aeons thread - Bones werewolf
« on: May 08, 2012, 04:21:01 PM »
There's so much great painting going on here that I thought I'd join in, but I haven't actually painted any of my Strange Aeons stuff yet.  So my first post will be terrain pieces, but I'll follow it up with progress on miniatures as well as I get them done.

A little info about the terrain pieces...  I've always wanted to make my own terrain, but didn't really know where to start.  So I when I started playing 40k a few years ago I bought the "How to Make Wargame Terrain" book and read it through.  I picked up a few scene-a-rama kits (by Woodland Scenics) but never bothered to do anything with them; they just sat collecting dust on my shelf.  Last week I was digging through stuff and found the rock making kit I had and thought, 'what the hell, let's try it out.'  So that was the catalyst for all the stuff you see below.  Oddly enough, I didn't remember that I had that scenery book until AFTER I'd built everything except the temple!

I started out with the intention of just building the little mountain with the waterfalls / pool on it, but I had tons of cast rocks left over.  Since I already had the styrofoam and cutters out I decided to just keep going.  So I've ended up with a mountain, a temple, two 2" high stepped hills, three smaller 1" high hills, and four smaller terrain bits.  The trees are ho-scale Woodland Scenics trees that I picked up on Sunday when I went to buy flocking.  I ended up with the trees and foam, but forgot the flocking!  Oops.