Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 04:33:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690665
  • Total Topics: 118343
  • Online Today: 866
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Sharpe for skirmish  (Read 12670 times)

Offline Mad Doc Morris

• Mastermind
  • Olympus speaketh?
Sharpe for skirmish
« on: April 10, 2008, 07:03:28 PM »
Intrigued by recently watching again the old 'Sharpe' series, I've pondered the idea of some small skirmish scale scenarios for the Napoleonic wars. Setting and story seem perfect for heroic fights and the like. Now I'm wondering which set of rules to use. I took a close look at the demo version of Gloire. The 'micro-scale' is very appealing, but I'm not sure if and how to modify the rules so as to better reflect Napoleonic warfare.

I have to admit that I'm not very experienced and as such not keen on changing or inventing rules. So if you like to throw in your suggestions or mad ideas for weapons, characters, scenarios etc. etc. - Or if you have another ruleset which you could recommend - do it, all input is much valued!

This thread should be a kind of brainstorming, before I get stuck into a new idea which could've done with a little thought beforehand. :D

Offline PeteMurray

• Parapsychologist
  • Scatterbrained Genius
  • Cardinal Murray
Sharpe for skirmish
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2008, 07:09:32 PM »
As a completely biased and unreliable observer, I think you could make Gloire work for Sharpe. The only issue is that with the small board sizes, Sharpe & Co. will get off one shot before the Frenchies will be on them with bayonets, so you'd have to work to create scenarios that were more than "pot that fellow, somebody!"