Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 19, 2024, 08:07:02 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1689631
  • Total Topics: 118288
  • Online Today: 681
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Advice Needed On How To Proceed  (Read 18512 times)

Offline marianas_gamer

• Scatterbrained Genius
  • Our Man on Guam Watchman in the East
Advice Needed On How To Proceed
« on: September 28, 2014, 03:39:21 AM »
I am a novice when it comes to trains, tracks, and all things railroad.  I know that there are some folks here at LAF that can give me good advice on how to proceed.  I started with the things I know:
A station

A coal bunker

and a water tower

Now I want to get my train and track operational. I bought a very inexpensive train but now I am having second thoughts.
The problem is that it only came with two straight tracks. I am not sure where I can get more without buying more train sets and that is a pretty expensive way to buy track! Here is what the track looks like.  It is black plastic and 1 inch wide (gauge?)

I have unscrewed the undercarriages for the passenger cars to paint the cars.  I am wondering whether these can be replaced with undercarriages that fit regular gauge track or whether they already fit a regular gauge. A single phillips head screw holds them in place.

If the undercarriages need to be replaced, where do you recommend I shop?
Finally, here is the engine. 

It didn't come with a coal car. If this is salvageable on a regular gauge track are there any recommendations on where to get a coal car? All recommendations are welcome!!!
LB
Got to kick at the darkness till it bleeds daylight.

Offline Constable Bertrand

• Scatterbrained Genius
    • Make and Paint Blog
Re: Advice Needed On How To Proceed
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2014, 05:23:58 AM »