Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 06:51:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690597
  • Total Topics: 118339
  • Online Today: 840
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: British Airborne in progress - new paintjob  (Read 7924 times)

Offline Remington

• Mastermind
  • Who? Where? Say what now?
    • The Doc's Diary
British Airborne in progress - new paintjob
« on: January 04, 2015, 04:38:25 PM »
With the release of Paul Cubbin's excellent painting tutorial for his Paras in Wargames Illustrated, I was inspired to paint some Paras. Actually I started painting one for fun a few days before spotting Cubs' posts on the LAF.

Paras are a fun army to paint... if it weren't for that Denison Smock. Cubs has a great technique involving the use of a glaze medium that I wanted to understand and use out of pure interest. Below you will see two miniatures that were painted with two more or less different techniques. The one on the left has the camouflage "blocked in" and traditionally highlighted, while the one on the right is emulating (poorly) the technique used by the very talented Mr. Cubbin. What intrigued me is the introduction of a bit of chaos and a random element, since you're never 100% how a glaze will apply or dry.

Now is where you come in... I am completely unsure with what technique to proceed. I've added a poll on my blog and I hope you may tell me if you like the Denison Smock on the left or on the right better.

You may give me an opinion here, but if you be so kind and vote on my blog, I could get a clearer picture.

Looking at these minis I've also realised that I need to rethink the metal parts on the rifles. Looks too light for my taste.

« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 08:55:41 PM by Remington »

Offline Mainly28s

• Scientist
  • Granddad, 28/8/1944
    • The 28mm review site