Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 06:37:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690803
  • Total Topics: 118351
  • Online Today: 947
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: I'm enjoying...cleaning flash!?  (Read 4519 times)

Offline grubman

• Mad Scientist
I'm enjoying...cleaning flash!?
« on: May 09, 2016, 12:34:51 AM »
I think there must be something wrong with me, or maybe it's my advancing age (47), but I recently started painting some old school miniatures made with old molds.  Every one has flash, needs some trimming or bending and the bases need to be smoothed and sanded.  In the past I would have found this to be a tedious daunting task...but I now seem to find it strangely relaxing, enjoyable, and rewarding.
Mice-Aat-Arms Miniatures and Rules: https://rrbminis.com/mice-at-arms/

Offline LeadAsbestos

• Scatterbrained Genius
    • When the Hurlyburly's Done...
Re: I'm enjoying...cleaning flash!?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 01:56:05 AM »
Well, I can be of help: let me ship you all my unprepped lead, and you can relax to your heart's content.  ;) :)

Offline myincubliss

• Mad Scientist
    • dead lead project
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 10:54:24 AM »
The high lead content of the old miniatures has got into your brain!  ;D

Offline Tactalvanic

• Mastermind
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2016, 11:11:02 AM »

I think your right but as we are similarly aged, I don't think thats the main cause.

Perhaps you are having a moment or mid-life crisis, Have you purchased a high spec motorbike or sports car recently?

Or both?

either in 1:1 real scale or other smaller scales?

If not - perhaps medical checks to be sure as suggested you are not being adversely affected by the materials you are working with  :D

Online Daeothar

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Galactic Brain
  • D1-Games: a DWAN Corporate initiative