Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 26, 2024, 01:58:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690721
  • Total Topics: 118343
  • Online Today: 947
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Greetings from Saxony  (Read 933 times)

Offline Richard in Sachsen

• Scientist
Greetings from Saxony
« on: August 10, 2016, 08:31:57 AM »
Hello,

My name is Richard and I've been posting awhile in the ancients forum but have never gotten around to introducing myself.

I'm a US military veteran, having served both in the Army and as an officer in the Navy.

Currently, I'm working on my dissertation at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. It's entitled
The Role and Poetical Function of the Drachenkampf in Medieval Germanic Literature and Contemporary Interpretation: from Beowulf, Sigurð and Wolfdietrich, to Bard and Túrin Turambar

That is probably why I am so pedantic with my own miniatures and the research it takes to make them as historical accurate as possible (or at the very least historically plausible, which is about as close as you can get with ancients.)

I've already been lucky enough to have published an article in Tolkien Studies XI: Original Sin in Heorot and Valinor, where I argued that Tolkien's elves are Germanic in nature, rather than Celtic and are defined by their Germanic heroism and the Germanic original sin of Kin-slaying. If anyone is interested, it can be read here: https://www.academia.edu/15066835/Original_Sin_in_Heorot_and_Valinor

My follow up essay, The White Lady, needs a couple of editing touches and should be off to peer-review in a couple of weeks. I hope that it will be forthcoming in next summer's journal.