Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 28, 2024, 08:45:47 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1686439
  • Total Topics: 118100
  • Online Today: 811
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 12:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Tabletop & Kids  (Read 1104 times)

Offline admiraldick

• Librarian
Tabletop & Kids
« on: September 18, 2016, 04:19:19 PM »
Hi all,

As a parent and teacher, I've always held up gaming as an important educational tool as well as awesome fun. However, when searching for advice and support on the best ways of using gaming with youngsters, it has always been sporadic and limited. So I set up a Facebook group, so that people can discuss just that. Topics like: how to run a school club; the best games to play with your family; and just what age to start your kids in the hobby.

The group is open to all tabletop gaming, including board and card games and RPGs.

If that sounds like something that would interest you, or you have something you'd like to share search for Tabletop & Kids, or find us here

Thanks for looking,

Richard

Offline N.C.S.E

• Scientist
Re: Tabletop & Kids
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2016, 02:19:22 PM »
As a young gamer (20 - began miniature wargaming at (bloody hell...) 8) I guess I can provide some ideas.

My father used to do scale modelling. My first memory ever was him cutting his finger open doing a Revell Dr.1. I was about 2 and a half at that time. So, yeah, never too young! I was doing models under his supervision from when I was about that age. I've basically taken up the mantel at this point.