Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
June 25, 2018, 08:11:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent

Author Topic: Project log - modern era 20mm European theatre skirmish game  (Read 696 times)

Offline Mr Kissyfur

• assistant
Project log - modern era 20mm European theatre skirmish game
« on: April 19, 2017, 09:41:15 AM »
Hi there

So, after a bit of model stasis (I started painting up the Imperial Assault figures a few months ago, and stalled – got heartily sick of painting Stormtroopers) I decided to embark on a project this year. The kids have very much got into tanks recently (thank you World of Tanks and Bovington Tank Museum) so I decided to put together a small 20mm game for them. The premise is modern-ish, Russian vs US. Rivet counters need not apply – I am very much mixing eras of equipment in the interests of getting on with it. 

So, to start with, here are some Russian soldiers, painted and in need of basing. These are the first 20mm figures I’ve painted, and they’re fiddly little blighters. So they look a little rougher in the close up than they do to my eyes in real life, but hey ho, the camera never lies 

US soldiers on the go:

I have to say, Elhiem figures are superb.

Some armour put together and awaiting painting:

Iv’e got a few more vehicles to do, plus an A-10 and Mig-23 and an AH-64:

Started some flight bases – tried to get a bit of weight on the bottom with a big flat washer: