Lead Adventure Forum

Miniatures Adventure => Fantasy Adventures => Topic started by: chaplain severus on 13 November 2023, 03:14:44 AM

Title: Sword and Spear Impetus rules question.
Post by: chaplain severus on 13 November 2023, 03:14:44 AM
so in the book it says.
If the unit has been allocated an action dice this phase, it may gain bonus dice due to impetus, as
follows:
Most units gain one bonus dice for the action dice allocated to it. However, an extra bonus dice is gained by:
A fresh unit of cavalry or elephants.
A fresh large unit.

Does this mean that these three exceptions always have "impetus"?

So If I activated my knights with a single "5" die.   Would they have impetus simply for being fresh cavalry? Or do they only get "impetus" if they have a 6 or bonus dice?

Thanks

Title: Re: Sword and Spear Impetus rules question.
Post by: Phil Portway on 14 November 2023, 06:29:23 PM
If the unit has been allocated an action dice this phase, it may gain bonus dice due to impetus, as
follows:
Most units gain one bonus dice for the action dice allocated to it. However, an extra bonus dice is gained by:
A fresh unit of cavalry or elephants.
A fresh large unit.
Does this mean that these three exceptions always have "impetus"?
So If I activated my knights with a single "5" die.   Would they have impetus simply for being fresh cavalry? Or do they only get "impetus" if they have a 6 or bonus dice?
If a unit is allocated a dice (this is impetus), Cav, Elephant & Large unit, if it "Fresh" (no kills) it will get one extra impetus dice, this means A fresh Cav unit will get five impetus dice: 3 for the strength, 1 for Impetus & 1 for being fresh. If it had taken a kill, it would have 4 dice.

Impetus is just a term within the game for "allocated dice" ( Impetus sounds better).

Re Knights: Would they have impetus simply for being fresh cavalry? YES!

Another thing re units with impact: they can charge when the allocated dice is equal to their discipline

The "Bonus dice" either 6 or a double can give you extra dice in shooting or Melee.

It's a great set of rules BTW!
Title: Re: Sword and Spear Impetus rules question.
Post by: Polkovnik on 16 November 2023, 12:46:59 PM
so in the book it says.
If the unit has been allocated an action dice this phase, it may gain bonus dice due to impetus, as
follows:
Most units gain one bonus dice for the action dice allocated to it. However, an extra bonus dice is gained by:
A fresh unit of cavalry or elephants.
A fresh large unit.

Does this mean that these three exceptions always have "impetus"?

They don't always have impetus. They only get it if they meet the normal requirements, i.e. they have an action dice allocated and they don't lose impetus through the list of cases where you don't get impetus. But if they do meet the requirements, then they get two extra dice instead of one.
If you used a bonus dice to activate them (a six or a double) you would get an extra dice as well.
So for example, fresh cavalry would get:
5 combat dice if fighting most troops (3 normal plus two for impetus)
6 combat dice if activated on a 6 and fighting most troops (3 normal plus two for impetus plus one bonus)
3 combat dice if fighting fresh spearmen (impetus cancelled by spearmen)