Lead Adventure Forum
Miniatures Adventure => Call of Cthulhu => Strange Aeons => Topic started by: pixelgeek on May 31, 2010, 05:57:55 AM
-
I just wanted to make sure that I understand how the damage system works
Character model with 2 wounds and Con of 6 takes damage. The roll is 8.
The model takes both wounds in damage, is down and then rolls on the Injury table with no modifier?
Correct?
Agent with one wound and a Con of 6 takes the same damage roll and is down and then rolls on the Injury Tables with a +2 modifier?
The only way to take a single wound then is to get his with a damage roll equal to your Con and anything over that will do multiple wounds and possibly an injury roll?
-
I re-read the rules, and now... I have the same question you just asked! :P
Sorry for not being able to help, but hopefully we'll get the definitive answer.
-
No. The key words are "past the models last Wound" (pg. 13, pg. 15).
If a Model has 2 Wounds and has a Con of 6 and you roll a 6 to Wound, with a +2 Bonus (making the roll 8) you simply cause a wound, the extra points past the Con don't do anything.
If you do the same thing on a 2 Wound Model with 1 Wound left, or a 1 Wound Model then you are taking away their last Wound and you modify the roll on the Injury table by the points you beat the last Wound by.
-
http://leadadventureforum.com/index.php?topic=12288.0
This rule should be rewritten. I didn't quite understand it first either...
(So, the answer is that your 6th damage roll point is the 1st wound, 7th is the 2nd, and 8th is +1 to the injury roll.)
-
Dolmot is correct...I agree it could be worded better.
-
Nevermind, I was wrong. Wow, it's heinously easy to kill tough characters/monsters with dynamite then... I suppose that makes sense.
-
If you can hit them successfully! I've managed to kill myself more times than my target with dynamite.
-
To sum-up:
Character model with 2 wounds and Con of 6 takes damage. The roll is 8.
At 6 points of damage the model takes the 1st wound
At 7 points of damage the model takes the 2nd second and last wound
At 8 points of damage add +1 to the injury roll
Agent with one wound and a Con of 6 takes the same damage roll and is down and then rolls on the Injury Tables with a +2 modifier?
Yes.
At 6 points of damage the model takes the 1st and last wound
At 7 points of damage add +1 to the injury roll
At 8 points of damage add +2 to the injury roll
The only way to take a single wound then is to get hit with a damage roll equal to your Con.
Armour, Thick Skin, Characteristic Increase (Wounds) or just plain luck; these are the ways to keep wounds from adding up as quickly as they do.
It is a brutal world out there in Strange Aeons. Lucky for Characters they get to roll on the Major Injury table all the way up to '66'. ;D
TR
-
So, if:
Character model with 2 wounds and Con of 6 takes damage. The roll is 6.
- only one wound is removed, and you do not roll on the injury table, because twe last wound is not removed?
The discussion came up an hour ago in our first quest scenario, when a Ghoul lost a CC.
-
Yup. :)