Lead Adventure Forum

Miniatures Adventure => Pulp => Topic started by: Big Sexy on 03 September 2010, 05:41:29 AM

Title: Close Combat Range Question
Post by: Big Sexy on 03 September 2010, 05:41:29 AM
How does the range of a melee weapon affect close combat.  The rules say that miniatures are in close combat when they are in base to base contact so how does a weapon with 1" range or more work?  Can a miniature with a weapon with 1" range poke away at an enemy without being "locked" in close combat?
Title: Re: Close Combat Range Question
Post by: Operator5 on 07 September 2010, 02:21:15 PM
That is correct. A weapon with a 1" or more range for close combat can attack a figure but not be locked in combat. It also helps when a charge falls slightly short of the target.
Title: Re: Close Combat Range Question
Post by: Big Sexy on 07 September 2010, 04:27:18 PM
Okay thanks.  So does that mean as long as two minis are fighting but not locked in combat they may simply move away without penalty?  Ever thought of having a negative modifier for the long weapons when in base-to-base? To represent the opponent slipping inside their guard.
Title: Re: Close Combat Range Question
Post by: Operator5 on 07 September 2010, 04:52:22 PM
Yes they can move away without penalty.

Only one weapon had a negative modifier for being in base contact (the polearm). All the rest were designed to be in close so even though they have reach, they can still be used in base contact.
Title: Re: Close Combat Range Question
Post by: Big Sexy on 07 September 2010, 05:58:07 PM
All cleared up.  Thanks again.