Lead Adventure Forum

Miniatures Adventure => Gothic Horror => Topic started by: Saucy Jack on 04 February 2015, 09:21:04 AM

Title: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Saucy Jack on 04 February 2015, 09:21:04 AM
In a game in our mini tournament yesterday a rules question came about. In combat if one of your models (armed with a sword) is Discombobulated does he receive the normal -2 penalty (Discombobulated in Combat) to the Riposte roll?
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: jscottbowman on 05 February 2015, 02:45:29 AM
I'd say not, as the reposte is kinda happening at the same time as the loser is wounded... but thats just my thoughts...
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Saucy Jack on 05 February 2015, 11:00:46 AM
I'd say not, as the reposte is kinda happening at the same time as the loser is wounded... but thats just my thoughts...
What if he was Discombobulated from the previous round?
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Holla_die_Waldfee on 05 February 2015, 11:29:15 AM
I would say "Yes". But can you list the steps of the scenery, so it maybe easier to understand.
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Saucy Jack on 05 February 2015, 02:13:15 PM
I will try:

- Two models engage in Combat - the Knight Marshall and a Zendarian Officer (using a sword), who is Discombobulated from a shot earlier in the round.

- The Knight Marshall wins the combat and the question is then; The Zendarian Officer wants to use Riposte. The Zendarians have a rule regarding Riposte that they can Riposte on a roll of 8-10, not the usual 9-10. Does the Zendarian Officer still only have to roll 8-10 or does the -2 penalty that he has in Combat from being Discombobulated apply here as well, meaning that he would have to roll a 10?
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Holla_die_Waldfee on 05 February 2015, 06:32:29 PM
Is this Riposte-Thing a Zendarian Special because I can't find anything in the Rulebook on first sight, where the Riposte Roll is described.

But discombobulated says, that the model only can perform movements, so I'm not sure if it can riposte. So first question should be, if it can riposte. When yes, I would just add the penalty to the +1 modifier.
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Saucy Jack on 05 February 2015, 07:27:59 PM
Is this Riposte-Thing a Zendarian Special because I can't find anything in the Rulebook on first sight, where the Riposte Roll is described.

But discombobulated says, that the model only can perform movements, so I'm not sure if it can riposte. So first question should be, if it can riposte. When yes, I would just add the penalty to the +1 modifier.
It is under the Zendarian Officers Club entry under Gentlemens Clubs
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Holla_die_Waldfee on 06 February 2015, 08:02:20 AM
Ok, that was the only entry in the Rulebook I found too. But it didn't change my answer the post before  ;)

I didn't play a Zendarian faction yet. Can you describe how you do this riposte roll, what are the effects? Is this a normal combat strike?

Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Thunderchicken on 06 February 2015, 08:11:20 PM
I'd say no riposte if discombobulated as the model is effectively stunned and can just about move.

What if he was Discombobulated from the previous round?

I haven't played for a few months but isn't it an automatic recovery of discombobulated at the end of each round?   
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Saucy Jack on 07 February 2015, 12:35:44 AM
I'd say no riposte if discombobulated as the model is effectively stunned and can just about move.

I haven't played for a few months but isn't it an automatic recovery of discombobulated at the end of each round?   
It is. What I meant was that earlier in the round he had gotten Discombobulated condition from a missile attack and was then charged
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: gary2bot on 28 April 2015, 01:46:57 PM
Reposte is an attribute of the weapon (sword) and is listed under "Sword" in the melee weapon chart. The way I see it, If you can still fight in combat (and have one good arm) you still get the ability. My recollection (don't have the rulebook with me) is that when Discombobulated you can still fight but with only one die at a modifier & can't win combat. Since you will lose combat, that will trigger the Reposte attempt. Reposte is not an Action, so I don't see why you would have a negative modifier to the Reposte die roll or why the Faction Ability would be modified.

Now...if you are Down...you don't get to fight and are dead -No Reposte.
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Saucy Jack on 30 April 2015, 11:42:57 AM
Reposte is an attribute of the weapon (sword) and is listed under "Sword" in the melee weapon chart. The way I see it, If you can still fight in combat (and have one good arm) you still get the ability. My recollection (don't have the rulebook with me) is that when Discombobulated you can still fight but with only one die at a modifier & can't win combat. Since you will lose combat, that will trigger the Reposte attempt. Reposte is not an Action, so I don't see why you would have a negative modifier to the Reposte die roll or why the Faction Ability would be modified.

Now...if you are Down...you don't get to fight and are dead -No Reposte.
So you can't win combat, but via Riposte you'll be able to damage your opponent. This really sounds broken, and would not be the way I would play it.
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: gary2bot on 30 April 2015, 02:00:09 PM
I don't see how this is "broken". It's not causing automatic damage....you still need to roll a 9+ & in the case of the Zendarians - 8+. In the dozen or so games we have played I have yet to see a successful Reposte roll.....not even by our Zendarian player!
Title: Re: EotD - Riposte when Discombobulated
Post by: Brummie Thug on 07 May 2015, 09:13:06 AM
I would say no you can't as your stunned.