Lead Adventure Forum
Miniatures Adventure => Fantasy Adventures => Frostgrave => Topic started by: Kamandi on August 07, 2015, 03:35:32 AM
-
1. Do Apprentices roll against the same casting number as Wizards? I had assumed they would get a penalty but I can't it in the rules.
2. Raise Zombie - does the caster then need to cast Control Undead or is Zombie assumed to be under control of the caster? Same question for Summon Demon.
Animal Companion implies that summoned/raised/companion-ed creatures are initially under the casters control unless someone else casts control on them.
-
Ha ha Kamandi. I bought in to Frostgrave as well:)
Apprentices roll at -2 penalty. Page 22. Not sure of the other.
-
Thanks Gary42
I though it was -2 but when I had to look it up I couldn't find it!
-
RAISE ZOMBIE
Necromancer / 8 / Out of Game OR Touch
This spell can be used both ‘Out of Game’ and during the game.
If successful, the spellcaster adds one zombie to his warband
(see Chapter 6: Bestiary). If the spell is cast before the game,
the zombie can be deployed normally. If it is cast during a
game, the zombie appears in base contact with the spellcaster.
A warband may only have one raised zombie at any one time. If
the zombie is killed during a game, Raise Zombie can be cast
again to create another. A raised zombie does not count
towards the warband size limit and remains with a warband
until the end of the game, at which point it crumbles into dust.
The necromancer does not need to cast Control Undead, as the zombie is added to the warband, and can even be deployed as a normal soldier if the spell is cast before the game, implying that it is already under the necromancer's control.
-
Thanks Phil. I have actually read the spell. Zombies automatically being under control of the caster is certainly implied by "adds one zombie to his warband" . The Control Undead spell had me wondering if it was explicitly stated somewhere.
-
The two spells are indeed entirely unrelated.
Also confirmation in the FAQ thread:
http://leadadventureforum.com/index.php?topic=80477.msg990226#msg990226
Zombie/Construct/Animal Companion are all created with a base state of being on your side.
Demons are created with a base state of wild and then get the bind spell applied to bring them under your control.
-
Thanks Phil. I have actually read the spell.
I wasn't trying to be condescending; it was just convenient for me to copy and paste the spell description in order to cite my interpretation of the rule.
Zombies automatically being under control of the caster is certainly implied by "adds one zombie to his warband" . The Control Undead spell had me wondering if it was explicitly stated somewhere.
It seems to me that Control Undead is a limited use spell that can be used to (A) control another necromancer's zombie, or (B) control a randomly generated undead creature (assuming random creatures are implemented). It's too bad that the necromancer can't at least summon a few more undead creatures.
Regarding the Summon Demon spell, it is a bit different in that it states, "The demon is treated as though it is already subject to a Bind Demon spell." I think the difference in wording as compared to the Raise Zombie spell is that a demon cannot be summoned between games and is therefore not "added to the warband" as such.
-
The difference is important due the possibility of dispelling.
Dispelling an Animal Companion or Animated Zombie or Construct will have no effect as they are now just normal members of your team.
Dispelling a bound demon will turn it wild.
Dispelling a Controlled Animal/Construct/Undead will return it wild if it was a wandering monster or back to its original owner if not.
-
Thanks for your clarification chaps. I'm quite sure there is a decent game in there if we can iron out the details. I'll probably have more questions after a couple more games.