Lead Adventure Forum

Miniatures Adventure => Fantasy Adventures => Frostgrave => Topic started by: Andreas the Apprentice on 31 October 2015, 03:08:34 PM

Title: Newbie Questions
Post by: Andreas the Apprentice on 31 October 2015, 03:08:34 PM
Hello everyone.
I'm Andreas, an apprentice seer.

Even though my skills as a seer are limited, I foresee a number of trips into Frostgrave in my future, but before then, I have a few questions.
I apologize in advance if these have been asked before or are actually covered in the rules already. I've looked, but despite being a seer, I miss things at times. Which I why I am still an apprentice, I guess.

1) Soldiers have an item limit of 1, on top of what they come with as standard. But how does this work with magic weapons/armour? If I (or my master) enchants the enchants the sword or mail coat of a soldier and later uses Embed Enchantment to make it permanent, does this count towards that limit of a single item? Or are these 'free' in that sense?
2) I carry 2 weapons - a sword and a dagger. My master enchants both. Are the bonuses cumulative, or can I get the (magical) bonus for only 1 weapon at a time?
3) Are XPs given for Out of Game spells?
... more questions are likely to arise later :)

EDIT: question 3 added.
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: rufus sparkfire on 31 October 2015, 03:22:09 PM
Hello!

1) yes, embedded enchantments do count towards the item limit. One magic item per soldier, no matter the source of the item. You can still cast the temporary enchant weapon/armour spells on soldiers with magic items though.

2) you can only claim the magical bonus for one weapon at a time.

3) no experience points for out of game spells, sadly.
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: Andreas the Apprentice on 01 November 2015, 05:14:17 PM
Quick and easy clear answers, thank you.
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: Andreas the Apprentice on 18 November 2015, 12:15:28 AM
One more little question:

Wizard Eye. I can put this on any terrain feature with a flat side - but does it have to be the side I can see?
In particular, can I put a Wizard Eye on the far side of a wall? In exemplia, on the far side of the wall that my opponent's wizard is hiding behind.
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: Darkson71 on 18 November 2015, 05:24:11 AM
Wizards Eye id a Line of Sight spell.   Can you see the side of the wall you can't see? Then you've answered your own question.  ;)
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: Andreas the Apprentice on 30 November 2015, 10:41:50 AM
I can see the wall.
So I still have a question :)

EDIT: It kinda depends on exactly what the target is. Is it the specific point on the wall where the Eye is formed, or is it the wall itself?
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: joe5mc on 30 November 2015, 11:06:59 AM
You must be able to see the point where you place the wizard eye when you cast the spell.
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: Andreas the Apprentice on 09 December 2015, 09:24:54 PM
You must be able to see the point where you place the wizard eye when you cast the spell.
Thank you.

Next question:
You can't control undead creatures with Mind Control, can you?
I'd assume you'd need to use Control Undead?
Title: Re: Newbie Questions
Post by: Philhelm on 10 December 2015, 01:21:52 AM
3) no experience points for out of game spells, sadly.

Except for Absorb Knowledge...   ;)