As it happens, there's no rule saying you have to 'declare' shield / banner transfers, so no, you haven't done anything wrong Valleyboy

I thought they were kinda obvious - but maybe I'm just used to seeing them on people's figures.
I think the ability and willingness to tackle shield designs and suchlike freehand is one mark of a good painter - although for uber-intricate Islamic style designs, freehand is probably out of the question. I guess if I was doing these figures, I'd probably yield to the lure of the waterslide decal...