Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 10:21:52 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691101
  • Total Topics: 118373
  • Online Today: 880
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: AWI - help!  (Read 1662 times)

Online traveller

• Scatterbrained Genius
AWI - help!
« on: December 26, 2019, 03:06:36 PM »
I have been drooling over the Front Rank and Triguard 40mm miniatures for a long time and finally decided to run a skirmish game in an American War of Independence setting. I have limited knowledge of the different battles and potential skirmish actions. I would like to include the following troop types in the game with a historical setting, maybe being a small part of a bigger battle:

Must have
American militia
American regulars
British regulars
Hessian Jägers
Indians

If possible
Loyalist Queens rangers
Highlanders

Grateful for any advice!

Offline Baron von Wreckedoften

• Mad Scientist
Re: AWI - help!
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2019, 08:14:25 PM »
Hi,  You could get most of those troop types into the Saratoga campaign, and the fighting/raiding from Canada into upper/western NY state during most of the war. Get a book on the Saratoga campaign, or one of the books on the Northern raids by Gavin Watt and start from there; they should give you plenty of detail on numbers and units.  For example, all of your "must haves" were present at Bennington (I'm assuming you are using "Hessian" in its generic sense, rather than specifically for troops from Hesse Cassel or Hesse Hanau), or at Klock's Field.