Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 28, 2024, 09:28:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: How does one paint (15mm) vehicles?  (Read 805 times)

Offline Ockman

• Mastermind
How does one paint (15mm) vehicles?
« on: September 02, 2017, 08:17:30 PM »
I've been painting miniatures and terrain for twenty years, but I've never painted a vehicle. What are your best tips?

The large open spaces scares me ;)

Offline Anna Elizabeth

• Scientist
Re: How does one paint (15mm) vehicles?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2017, 08:25:44 PM »
I use spray can or airbrush to basecoat my 15mm vehicles. It's a good way to get smooth even coverage on a vehicle.

These late Tiger E's were primed with Tamiya Dark Yellow spray Lacquer, and the camouflage was added with airbrush and Vallejo acrylics.

These Afrika Tigers were airbrushed with Vallejo Model Air primer and colors to be "Tunisian" Tigers. All these 15mm tanks were then finished with brush work on the details and highlights.

Offline Ockman

• Mastermind
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2017, 09:07:46 PM »
Thanks for the tips, although I have no airbrush. How does one paint vehicles with a brush?

Offline Westfalia Chris

• Cardboard Warlord
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Brain
  • Elaborate! Elucidate! Evaluate!
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2017, 09:20:01 PM »
For 15mm, the most important thing would be meeting a "sweet spot" compromise between paint opacity and thin coats.

I usually basecoat vehicles in any scale in a medium grey. On top of that, I apply several thin coats of the vehicle base colour, so that the details don't get obscured, but aiming for an even coat.

Next, I add any camouflage patterns, again in thin coats, and paint in details such as tires and tracks.