Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 27, 2024, 03:48:56 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: The Deep Blue Sea: Ruleset  (Read 3600 times)

Offline Baggins Wood

• Assistant
    • The Deep Blue Sea
The Deep Blue Sea: Ruleset
« on: April 19, 2009, 11:58:44 PM »
I've been working for several years now on a ruleset for Seafaring (and Coastal/Insular) Adventures. The idea was not to make a set of "Skirmish on Deck/Dock" rules, but something that captured the feel of really having the sea and wind as integral, and saw ships as vital elements of the game not platforms to have the game on. I blame Rudi Geudens and the Antwerp Fusiliers. Their Jolly Roger (7 pages including fine illustrations) Rules have inspired what currently stands at 76 pages without illustrations. At 132k (OpenOffice) or c412k(MSWord) it's a bit big to cut and paste here for your perusal. If people don't find it too annoying I could post text sections now and again for appraisal and crit. I don't have any objection to people here using ideas ("I stand on the shoulders of giants" etc. 'though I might be slightly miffed if a glossy reprint became a best-seller under someone else's moniker). Indeed, I hope that I can use any feedback for much needed improvements. Here's the opening pages to give an idea of the show...

Philosophy (Sales Pitch)

High Seas Adventure on a Tabletop.