Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 04:16:39 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Towton project - Scottish forces present?  (Read 1975 times)

Offline Stuart H

• Assistant
    • Towton 28mm
Towton project - Scottish forces present?
« on: October 07, 2018, 10:02:13 PM »
I’ve been putting together a 28mm Towton for about 3 years now. Its been very slow progress but do check out my blog http://28mmtowton.blogspot.com/.

For my first foray on to the excellent LEF which has provided me with lots of inspiration, I have some questions about whether there were any Scottish troops at Towton. If anyone knows any of these answers, do let me know.

The historical sources agree that Queen Margaret was allowed to raise troops in Scotland in 1460/1. These troops marched south with her and fought in the Battle of St Albans in February 1461. It is possible, even probable, that they marched north with her after this battle. But the vast majority of the material I have read on Towton makes no mention of Scottish troops at Towton.

Haigh, in From Wakefield to Towton, (p 55) talks of “Scottish/Northern mercenaries” who after St Albans turn northward to York (p 57) but he does suggest latter that many of the Lancastrian forces that mustered over the winter of 1460-1 may have possibly dispersed by the Spring (p 66). Any Scottish mercenaries, if they were such, would seem an obvious contenders for this.

Bannockburn - c1440 Scotichronicon

Anyone know any good primary source evidence, either way?

If they were at Towton, there are some follow up questions – who was commanding them, what was their force composition and dress and equipment?