Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 10:27:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: What kind of fencing during ECW?  (Read 1289 times)

Offline mkultra99

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Bookworm
What kind of fencing during ECW?
« on: June 05, 2019, 07:50:27 PM »
Not fencing.. "en gaurde, have at thee!" kind of fencing.. but fencing for farms, crops, pigs, what have you... I know that the ECW happens during the "enclosure act" where rich landholders were consolidating smaller farms.. as one does. Seems lush hedges are all the rage on ECW wargaming boards tho'...?
« Last Edit: June 06, 2019, 08:25:44 PM by mkultra99 »

Offline FifteensAway

• Galactic Brain
Re: What kind of fencing during ECW?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2019, 05:47:43 AM »
Dang it, stole my epee thunder!  lol

I'm no expert but I've seen lots of photos of enclosures with stone walls.

Offline Ramirez Noname

• Supporting Adventurer
  • Mastermind
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2019, 06:49:45 AM »
Check out John Speed's maps - he was a cartographer of the early 17th century. Many of his town maps show larger enclosures (town walls, etc).

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=john+speed+town+maps&tbm=isch&ved=2ahUKEwj0_N3ukdTiAhUK9hQKHXPQAgwQ2-cCegQIABAC&oq=john+speed+town+maps&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-img.3...71151.82875..83691...1.0..0.317.3419.20j5j3j1......0....1.......5..35i39j0j0i5i30j0i67j0i10j0i8i30j0i24.v9HmDFAl6g8&ei=tqb4XPTJI4rsU_Ogi2A&bih=672&biw=1024&client=safari&prmd=misvn&hl=en-gb

In the countryside, laid hedges would form enclosures to fields. However, fields around manors could be quite sizeable.

Within towns, villages and hamlets, local materials would be used - for example some of the fighting in Cirencester took place between gardens divided by high dry stone walls.

Hope this helps.

RMZ

Offline Friends of General Haig

• Mad Scientist
    • My Blog:
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2019, 06:55:52 AM »