Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 01:39:18 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Airbrush ventilation with acrylic paints?  (Read 433 times)

Offline ZeroTwentythree

• Mastermind
    • ZeroTwentythree
Airbrush ventilation with acrylic paints?
« on: December 17, 2023, 07:26:44 PM »
I have never used an airbrush before, but received one (and compressor) as a gift LAST Christmas. I bought a small spray booth with lights, fan, and filter. I was going to try painting in the garage with the door open in the nice weather, but that has not worked out. However I will have some time to try it out over the holidays this year. But since I am in a cold climate need to do it indoors. I paint figures in the the cellar and getting to an outside window is a big challenge. I only plan on using acrylic paints, so I am considering setting up the spray booth like normal, but instead of venting to an outside window I will run the exhaust duct to a bucket rigged as a secondary filter. Cover the top with filter material, cut a hole, and insert the end of the duct and seal it -- something like that. Maybe a towel in the bottom to soak up anything that gets through the duct.

My thought process is this:
  • I'm not using paints with solvents, so my concern is with spray/particulate matter, not toxic fumes.
  • There is already one filter on the fan, the bucket will act as a secondary filter to prevent paint from spraying into the air.

Does this make sense or am I off target? Anyone else have suggestions? Like I said, I have zero experience with an airbrush but would like to try it out!

Offline Phil Robinson

• Scatterbrained Genius
    • http://newsfromthefront-phil.blogspot.com/
Re: Airbrush ventilation with acrylic paints?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2023, 11:26:05 PM »