Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 01:10:13 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: Fellow African adventurer needs help!  (Read 2794 times)

Offline anch_io

• Bookworm
Fellow African adventurer needs help!
« on: June 19, 2020, 09:44:53 AM »
Well… I guess you all know how it goes. North Star has a sale, you grab a rulebook. Someone is selling miniatures on the forum, you grab them because „they're cheap“… and now you are hooked to another period and project.

Therefore, as total noob, I have to ask fellow adventurers for recommendations on “Darkest Africa”. I want to play some games at the local club with friends, but I am guessing that I will have to provide both forces just to spark some interest. What is in your opinion a good starting skirmish ruleset for the period? I have “Death in the Dark Continent” (they actually have gotten me into this mess – Chris Peers really knows how to provide color to his rulesets), but I am not too fond of its basing system and it seems to me that it requires at least medium amount of miniatures to start (about 50 a side), so…maybe later. Consequently, I am undecided on what to buy. “Congo” seems interesting, but 30 pounds is a bit much on a skirmish ruleset that I may or may not like. On the other hand, “Men Who Would Be Kings” is cheap, seems simple enough, but maybe a little bit too simple. What would you recommend for a good starting (skirmish) set for this period? Are there any other good rulesets that I am not aware of?

Also, I have question about the miniatures. I am going to use 28mm, and both North Star and Copplestone seem like natural choices. I also like Foundry’s Africa line, but is it a little bit smaller or it ranks up nicely with those two? What about Perry or Warlord miniatures? Are there any other manufacturers for this period that I do not know of?