Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 29, 2024, 02:23:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1686604
  • Total Topics: 118111
  • Online Today: 626
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 12:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: A call for help with my wizards tower: update the tower has been saved  (Read 1641 times)

Offline Thoronde

• Assistant
Dear friends, I come to you looking for help. I am building a wizards tower, the tower is a pringles can, sprayed black and coated with foam blocks. I used wood glue on the blocks to glue them in place. After this I coated the stones in artists-plaster and wiped it down with a watered brush to remove most of it. After this I started painting the tower but I noticed the paint wasn't holding well and the plaster was chipping. from light brushing. This is different from what I noticed during my last project where the plaster would hold paint really well. Do you guys have any tips to make the paint hold better on the plaster/foam stonework. Would applying a coat of pva or matte varnish help?

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2020, 09:51:59 PM by Thoronde »

Offline PhilB

• Scientist
    • A Dragontooth Grognard
Re: A call for help with my wizards tower
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2020, 07:50:10 AM »
It's odd that the plaster is chipping so much, perhaps it is due to the "flex" or the foam bricks and pringles can base.

I would think you might want to use a more durable material in a future project, like patching plaster that one would normally use to fill holes in drywall.

This said, a coat of paint mixed with PVA might add a measure of stability to your current base, and help prevent future chipping issues. I recently carved a stone well out of high-density foam, and one of the first things I did was paint it with a mixture of craft paint and PVA, even though there was nothing to "chip" off.