Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 03:37:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1690523
  • Total Topics: 118335
  • Online Today: 732
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Do I want an airbrush?  (Read 2300 times)

Offline dwbullock

• Scientist
Do I want an airbrush?
« on: March 25, 2021, 05:33:12 PM »
As the title suggests, I'm pondering an airbrush.  I'm a tabletop quality painter, on my best days.  I know I do not have the skill for an airbrush on a miniature, but looking at my pile of terrain and vehicles.  Wondering if airbrushes would be worth it.

Any suggestions or advice?  I have a very nice air compressor that is probably too much for an airbrush, to be honest - neighbor was a contractor and gave me one of his fancy compressors.  Thinking $100 or less range, and wondering if I can get the same results / speed with the traditional approach. 

In short, really torn.

Offline BZ

• Mad Scientist
  • https://oathgrave.blogspot.com/
    • Oathgrave
Re: Do I want an airbrush?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2021, 05:53:28 PM »
Im here just for the advices, because I have the same struggle...

Offline monk2002uk

• Mad Scientist
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2021, 06:26:34 PM »
I wasn't sure about getting an airbrush but it has been a huge help. My main focus is on 6mm figures. I can spray hordes at the same sitting. First the bases in an earth colour and then the whole figure in the colour of the uniform. Takes 10% of the time.

Large vehicles (15mm and 28mm) come up really well. And super quick compared to hand painting them.

Robert

Offline the_inquisition!

• Bookworm
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2021, 08:52:06 PM »
Go for it - it can be a bit tricky, but airbrushes are great for vehicles and terrain. I've started using mine to do initial basecoats and highlights on 28mm minis which are mostly one colour.