Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2024, 09:11:29 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: First attempts: Mexican-American War  (Read 1928 times)

Offline Redshank

• Librarian
First attempts: Mexican-American War
« on: July 02, 2021, 02:02:57 PM »
Hi folks, I'm fairly new to tabletop wargames, and I've settled on the Mexican-American War for my first project, inspired by learning about a new period and by some great miniatures ranges.

I couldn't decide between the Eureka 18mm range and the 1st Corps 28mm, so I ordered some samples and decided to have a go at painting them after watching a few youtube guides. This required dropping some more cash on one of those craft magnifying glass/lamps after I discovered my eyesight wasn't was I thought it was!

Here are my first efforts at setting brush to mini in 30 years+... first up, 18mm US regulars from Eureka:

Next, 28mm Mexican line infantry from 1st Corps:

The Eureka US dragoon and Mexican line cavalryman are unfinished but I want to give a shout to the efforts of Mrs Redshank on the Mexican's horse! She is interested in doing the horses from now on (...what monster have I created?).

They're obviously unbased as yet.

And I still haven't decided which scale I want to use. I found the 18mm easier and quicker to paint. All the fiddly detail on the 28mm was a bit of a nightmare and I kept making mistakes. They are far from the standard I want, whereas the 18mm looks kind of ok to me (although with much room for improvement). But then I keep thinking how good a battalion of 28mm would look based up.

I suppose 18mm feels like pool (I think I can quickly get to a reasonable standard) whereas 28mm feels like snooker - much harder, but possibly more impressive and rewarding when (if) I get there!
« Last Edit: July 02, 2021, 02:05:24 PM by Redshank »

Offline Gribb

• Librarian
Re: First attempts: Mexican-American War