Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 25, 2024, 08:49:11 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: D&D with miniatures - Evil wizard and Kenku Warlock 3/24  (Read 4286 times)

Offline CookAndrewB

• Mastermind
    • 3d designs can be found at Thingiverse
D&D with miniatures - Evil wizard and Kenku Warlock 3/24
« on: September 09, 2021, 04:04:48 PM »
A few weeks ago I started playing an ongoing D&D campaign with my son, a buddy of mine, and his son. After a few missions of pushing around various colored dice on a map, I decided to custom make some figures for everyone as a gift. This was my first time sculpting at 28mm (vaguely) scale and I thought I would share the results.

My son's character Garo the monk.

My friend's character Caraman the archer (fighter specializing in the bow).

My friend's son's character Valdosta the Halfling Rogue.

On the whole, I can say two things really gave me fits; Faces and hands. Faces I'm writing off to the number of times these characters have been beaten about the head and neck with various weapons of war. You just don't survive that and look like Brad Pitt. lol The hands though... yeesh. The best I could do was Simpson's style three-fingered hands, and even those turned out a bit swollen as if they had been slapping bees all day. It was a great learning experience and gave me a real appreciation for the work of some of you do (and sculptors in general).

The intrepid warband poised for a fight!

Any pointers on hand and face sculpting would be welcome. I think it is fair to say this will never be my day job, but I would like to improve in my hobby all the same. I feel like there has to be a easy way to get decent results. The sculpting equivalent of dry brushing highlights, or whatever.  lol
« Last Edit: March 24, 2022, 08:01:10 PM by CookAndrewB »

Offline Pattus Magnus

• Scatterbrained Genius