Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 23, 2024, 07:25:32 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Recent

Author Topic: And now for something completely different... Fremitus as a Roman  (Read 753 times)

Offline Fremitus Borealis

• Scientist
  • Magister Discipulorum
So... this doesn't really belong in my Macedonian/Successors project thread, so I figured I'd make a separate silly post for it. :D

Despite my affinity for the Hellenistic period, I am a Latin teacher by trade, so I thought it would be fun to model myself as a miniature Roman. I have yet to unveil it to my students, but I feel like the three or four (out of 200 or so) who don't already hate me for forcing them to memorize verb conjugations might get a kick out of it lol

I started with a Footsore "Gangs of Rome" mini. Chopped the head off and added a Mad Robot bald head (Fremitus is a friend of the razor). After Greenstuff-ing the head on, I then Greenstuffed a triumphant beard (Fremitus' friendship of the razor stops at about the ears). I based him on a metal washer and decided that unlike all of my other minis, he needed to stand on a cobblestone street, so I cut tiny little blocks out of spare pink foam and glued them down to form the road. After priming, highlighting, and doing a few successive layers of grey, different whites, and earthy washes, followed by a bit of flock because why not, I drilled a tiny hole in the base, and the mini-man, and attached with a bit of paperclip (I figured just gluing him on wouldn't be as stable.)

I'm fairly pleased with the results. The eyes look like an anime character who's just had his eyes dilated at the optometrist, but I feel I captured that classic Latin teacher "what do you mean you didn't do your homework?!?!?" eye twitch lol

« Last Edit: September 30, 2021, 03:22:41 AM by Fremitus Borealis »
"Nice try, history; better luck next year."

Offline Ranthony

• Scientist