Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 29, 2024, 07:47:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1691091
  • Total Topics: 118371
  • Online Today: 859
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: WW1 in Palestine  (Read 6353 times)

Offline valleyboy

• Mad Scientist
    • Valleyboy's Wargames
WW1 in Palestine
« on: September 26, 2009, 04:44:11 AM »
Afternoon ladies and gents
Newbie here chasing some advice & currently looking to avoid pitfalls.
I'm a megalomanic 15mm Napoleonic gamer at heart but have started something of a new journey or venture here. I'm slowly trying to work my way through the huge amount of stuff on the board that you've all put together.

It sorted of started with "oh look shiny" o_o when I bought some BH Australian Light Horse a few years back, I'm ashamed to say they aren't painted yet. Next impulse was the Gripping Beast or Woodbine Design figures that I bought at Salute 2009 and lugged back to NZ - I bought starter armies for British and Turks. I'm about to start on the Turks this afternoon.

I also  :o bought some Artizan Arab Irregular Cavalry recently after seeing pics on TMP and have finished them. Problem is that I don't really know where its going yet - I just have visions of Lawrence, some Arabs and Brits dealing to the pesky Turks and Germans in the long run with a few planes and the odd armoured car appearing here or there in the background. I know I'll have to sort some desert terrain and buildings, a railway etc (its all there somewhere in my imagination) but it will have to expand slowly

This week the $NZ is looking good against the GBP and so I'm a happy man and am going to start accumulating more figs. Where should I go from here? - a Turkish Expansion set from GB? and a few more Brits along with a handful or Arabs from Artizan? at what stage should I start getting artilllery?