Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 18, 2024, 03:41:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Donate

We Appreciate Your Support

Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 1689477
  • Total Topics: 118281
  • Online Today: 568
  • Online Ever: 2235
  • (October 29, 2023, 01:32:45 AM)
Users Online

Recent

Author Topic: Sengoku project 28mm.  (Read 2183 times)

Offline clibinarium

• Librarian
Sengoku project 28mm.
« on: December 04, 2021, 11:12:30 PM »
I've decided to embark on a project on one of my first wargaming loves- the Sengoku Jidai. I thought it might be of interest to document the journey here, and it will give me an incentive to keep at it.

I am starting pretty much from scratch, in a quite literal sense- I am going to make the figures from concept to tabletop. I've been learning digital sculpting in my spare time for a couple of years, and it's been slow going, since spare time has been hard to come by, even during the pandemic. I January I'll be doing an intermediate course (I did the beginner's course back in 2019), and while that will no doubt boost my skills I do need to practice in the meantime to gear up. So I decided this would be a challenging but doable task, I am going to use it as a sculpting school of sorts for myself.

So to get the ball rolling here's a pic of my initial 3D sketch. It looks super rough because it is literally a sketch- effectively a piece of digital clay that's been sculpted like you might a real piece of clay. That's why a lot of bits that should be nice and straight are very wobbly looking. The idea is that you sketch your figure out so that you can get the overall look and proportions right and then begin to build the actual model from the sketch . This is only one approach to 3D modeling, but it's the one I've found the most intuitive. You may have seen some of my figures for Dave P. in the Schleswig-Holstein thread- they were done differently (and much to my chagrin much more inefficiently!)